FIRST with real time Breaking News coverage overnight
Creative Commons License
Operation 100 News by Operation 100 News - Mike Frizzell is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Posted material may not be copied, rewritten, published, broadcast, or otherwise shared without proper attribution given including link to original webpage.
Contact Mike Frizzell -

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

National Take Back Initiative - Saturday, October 29, 2011

Posted: October 26, 2011 - 4:35am

This Saturday, October 29, 2011, from 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. is the National Prescription Drug Take Back Day. The U.S. Department of Justice Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) along with state and local law enforcement agencies across the country will be hosting the event to collect unwanted and unused prescription drugs.

Residents are invited to drop off unused, unneeded or expired prescription medications at any of the listed locations, no questions asked. Tablets, capsules, and all other solid dosage forms will be collected. Intravenous solutions, injectable medications, and syringes will not be accepted.

According to the 2009 Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's National Survey on Drug Use and Health, more than seven million Americans currently abuse prescription drugs. Each day more thank 2,500 teens use prescription drugs to get high for the first time according to the Partnership for a Drug Free America.

Locations in Douglas County:

  • Eudora - Eudora Medical Plaza, 600 East 20th Street.
  • Lawrence - Douglas County Law Enforcement Center, 111 East 11th Street (Short term parking lot between the Courthouse & South Park).

Locations in Johnson County:
  • Gardner/New Century - Sheriff's Office Operations Building, 27747 W 159th Street.
  • Leawood - Leawood City Hall, 4800 Town Center Drive.
  • Lenexa - Lakeview Village, 9100 Park Street.
  • Olathe - Johnson County Courthouse, 125 N Cherry Street (East Entrance).
  • Olathe - Olathe City Hall, 100 E Santa Fe Street.
  • Overland Park - Myron E. Scafe Justice Center, 8500 Antioch Road.
  • Overland Park - W. Jack Sanders Justice Center, 12400 Foster Street.
  • Prairie Village - Prairie Village Police Department, 7710 Mission Road.
  • Shawnee - Shawnee Police Department, 5850 Renner Road.

All information provided by;

Post a Comment